H.R. No. 1728

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Stan Luckie has been named 2009 Alumni of the Year by
- 2 Leadership Garland, a program of the Garland Chamber of Commerce;
- 3 and
- WHEREAS, Implemented in 2006, the award was designed to honor
- 5 a graduate who has demonstrated a sincere and effective
- 6 responsibility to the community; and
- 7 WHEREAS, A proud member of Leadership Garland's Class 17, Mr.
- 8 Luckie holds a bachelor's degree from Texas Tech University and is
- 9 in the insurance business; active in civic affairs, he has served as
- 10 chairman of the Garland Chamber of Commerce, the Garland Economic
- 11 Development Partnership, and the Garland YMCA and as district
- 12 chairman of the Gray Owl District for the Boy Scouts of America; his
- 13 leadership roles in nonprofit organizations include membership on
- 14 the boards of Baylor Medical Center at Garland and the Garland
- 15 Summer Musicals Guild; and
- WHEREAS, Mr. Luckie is committed to work that builds a better
- 17 future for the City of Garland and all its residents; he is a member
- 18 of Garland's Plan Commission, which guides city development and
- 19 growth, and president of the board of the New Beginning Center, an
- 20 agency supporting families affected by domestic violence; and
- 21 WHEREAS, By striving to make his community a better place in
- 22 which to live, work, and raise a family, Stan Luckie has
- 23 demonstrated a level of civic involvement to which others may
- 24 aspire; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 1728

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
Legislature hereby congratulate Stan Luckie on being named 2009
Alumni of the Year by Leadership Garland and extend to him sincere
best wishes for continued success and happiness; and, be it further
RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for Mr. Luckie as an expression of high regard by the Texas

House of Representatives.

Button

H.R. No. 1728

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1728 was adopted by the House on May 11, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House