## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, For more than three decades, Mercy Ships has 2 operated hospital ships that deliver free, world-class health care 3 services to those without access in over 70 developing nations; and WHEREAS, This Christian-based global charity was founded in 4 5 1978 by Don and Deyon Stephens of Garden Valley with the mission "to bring hope and healing to the forgotten poor"; today they oversee 6 7 the Africa Mercy, the world's largest nongovernmental hospital ship, consisting of six operating rooms and berth capacity for some 8 9 484 people; and

WHEREAS, Representing more than 35 nations, the crew of the
Africa Mercy provides up to 7,000 surgical interventions onboard
every year, including cataract removal, tumor removal, cleft lip
and palate reconstruction, orthopaedic repair, and obstetric
fistula repair; and

WHEREAS, Volunteers also go ashore to provide dental and oral health care education, immunizations, and lessons on a variety of community health issues; moreover, they offer palliative home care for terminally ill patients, as well as support for their families; and

WHEREAS, Since its inception, the organization has directly served more than 2.16 million people, delivered services valued at more than \$748 million, and completed more than 900 construction and agriculture projects, including schools, clinics, and orphanages; and

- 1 WHEREAS, The founders, staff, and volunteers of Mercy Ships
- 2 have had a profound impact on the fight for global health, and their
- 3 tireless work in behalf of individuals in need around the world is
- 4 truly an inspiration; now, therefore, be it
- 5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 6 Legislature hereby honor Mercy Ships for its outstanding
- 7 contributions to global health and extend to all those associated
- 8 with this remarkable organization sincere best wishes for continued
- 9 success; and, be it further
- 10 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 11 prepared for Mercy Ships as an expression of high regard by the
- 12 Texas House of Representatives.

Flynn Hughes Berman Merritt

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Branch Harper-Brown Ortiz, Jr. Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Callegari Hilderbran Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez Martinez Fischer Walle Flores

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1732 was adopted by the House on May 11, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House