H.R. No. 1741

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, San Patricio County Judge Terry Simpson has been
elected president of the County Judges and Commissioners
Association of Texas; and

WHEREAS, The CJCAT works to promote the interests of county government through active participation in governmental affairs and continuing education; each of the 254 counties in Texas is represented in the association by its county judge and four county commissioners; and

9 WHEREAS, Terry Simpson's service to San Patricio County began 10 after his graduation from Sinton High School in 1970, when he went 11 to work for the San Patricio County Sheriff's Department as a 12 dispatcher and a deputy sheriff; in 1977, he became a patrol officer 13 for the Sinton Police Department, returning to the sheriff's 14 department in 1980; and

WHEREAS, In 1997, this dedicated public servant was appointed as justice of the peace for Precinct 1 of San Patricio County, and in 1999, he was elected to the same position; and

18 WHEREAS, Mr. Simpson was elected San Patricio county judge in 19 2002 and took office in 2003; he won reelection in 2006, with his 20 new term beginning in 2007; and

21 WHEREAS, With his election as president of the CJCAT, Judge 22 Simpson will play a vital role in helping to ensure the efficiency 23 and effectiveness of this important organization, and he merits 24 special commendation for his service and achievements; now,

1

H.R. No. 1741

1 therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas Legislature hereby congratulate the Honorable Terry Simpson on his election as president of the County Judges and Commissioners Association of Texas and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success in his important work; and, be it further

7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 8 prepared for Judge Simpson as an expression of high regard by the 9 Texas House of Representatives.

Hunter

H.R. No. 1741

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1741 was adopted by the House on May 11, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House