H.R. No. 1749

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The San Antonio chapter of the Service Corps of
Retired Executives has benefited the community for more than three
decades; and

WHEREAS, Chartered in 1975, the chapter is supported by the U.S. Small Business Administration in its efforts to provide free counseling and guidance to new and ongoing small businesses in San Antonio and the surrounding area; and

8 WHEREAS, Membership is composed of veteran businessmen and 9 businesswomen who share their time and expertise with entrepreneurs 10 in such diverse fields as insurance, real estate, construction, 11 financial planning, taxes, and inventory management; and

12 WHEREAS, These dedicated SCORE volunteers, known as "counselors to small business," have offered workshops on growing a 13 business, developing a business plan, and marketing, and they 14 regularly provide invaluable assistance to individuals in person 15 and by e-mail; moreover, they speak for free to civic clubs, 16 17 business and professional organizations, schools, neighborhood associations, and other groups as part of the chapter's Speakers' 18 Bureau; and 19

20 WHEREAS, Committed to the formation, growth, and success of 21 small businesses, members of the San Antonio chapter of SCORE have 22 contributed greatly to the economic health and innovative spirit of 23 the Alamo City, and they are indeed worthy of special recognition; 24 now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 1749

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 2 Legislature hereby commend the San Antonio chapter of SCORE for its 3 many years of service and extend to all those associated with the 4 organization sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it 5 further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for the San Antonio chapter of SCORE as an expression of 8 high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

McClendon

H.R. No. 1749

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1749 was adopted by the House on May 11, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House