RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Asian/Pacific Americans contribute vitally to
- 2 communities across the United States, and the observance of
- 3 Asian/Pacific American Heritage Month in May 2009 offers a fitting
- 4 opportunity to recognize this diverse group of people; and
- 5 WHEREAS, In 1990, President George H. W. Bush expanded the
- 6 annual celebration of Asians and Pacific Islanders in the U.S. from
- 7 the first 10 days of May to the entire month; May was chosen to
- 8 commemorate the immigration of the first Japanese to the United
- 9 States on May 7, 1843, and to mark the May 10, 1869, anniversary of
- 10 the completion of the transcontinental railroad, which was built in
- 11 large part by Chinese immigrants; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Since the early waves of Asian immigrants in the
- 13 19th century, people from throughout the Asian continent and the
- 14 Pacific Islands have made the United States their home;
- 15 Asian/Pacific Americans number more than 15 million and have
- 16 distinguished themselves through their service in the U.S.
- 17 military, their business and professional endeavors, their
- 18 community involvement, their cultural traditions, and their strong
- 19 bonds of family; and
- WHEREAS, Asian/Pacific Americans have made a positive and
- 21 lasting difference to the Lone Star State and the country as a
- 22 whole, and the celebration of Asian/Pacific American Heritage Month
- 23 acknowledges and promotes the immeasurable benefits of living in a
- 24 truly diverse society; now, therefore, be it

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby recognize May 2009 as Asian/Pacific American
- 3 Heritage Month and encourage all citizens to learn more about the
- 4 history and achievements of Asian/Pacific Americans.

Button Vo McCall Hochberg Howard of Fort Bend

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Callegari Hilderbran Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Edwards Legler Thibaut Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Fletcher Martinez Vo

Martinez Fischer

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flores

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Walle

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1759 was adopted by the House on May 18, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House