## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Beal family of Midland has been honored with a
- 2 2009 Hearst Energy Award for lifetime achievement by the Midland
- 3 Reporter-Telegram and its parent company, the Hearst Corporation;
- 4 and
- 5 WHEREAS, In 1949, petroleum engineer Carlton Beal, Sr.,
- 6 drilled his first oil well in West Texas; the son of a California
- 7 geologist and oilman, Mr. Beal was a Stanford graduate and had
- 8 earned his master's degree in petroleum engineering at the
- 9 Massachusetts Institute of Technology before going on to serve in
- 10 the Petroleum Administration for War and teach at the University of
- 11 Southern California during World War II; he moved his family to
- 12 Midland in 1953, and the next year formed Beal, Trobaugh and
- 13 Associates with a former student; and
- 14 WHEREAS, BTA became one of the most successful independent
- 15 oil companies in the Permian Basin, and Beal family members took on
- 16 leadership roles in the community; in 1959, Mr. Beal and his wife,
- 17 Keleen, created the Beal Foundation that has generously supported
- 18 educational, religious, and charitable causes; Mrs. Beal served as
- 19 chair of the foundation, and the family and the foundation were
- 20 honored by the establishment of Beal Plaza at Midland College in
- 21 1978; 20 years later, the foundation received the fifth annual
- 22 Permian Basin National Philanthropy Day Outstanding Foundation
- 23 Award; and
- 24 WHEREAS, The couple and their foundation made numerous

- 1 significant donations to Midland College, and this tradition has
- 2 been followed by their son, Spencer, who joined the Midland College
- 3 Foundation Board in 1984 and served as its president from 1992 to
- 4 1996; for his contributions to the school and the community, he was
- 5 recognized in 2005 with the Outstanding Volunteer Award on the 12th
- 6 annual Permian Basin National Philanthropy Day; and
- 7 WHEREAS, Today, numerous members of the Beal family uphold
- 8 the legacy of civic commitment established by Mr. Beal, who died in
- 9 1994, and Mrs. Beal, who passed away in 2006; the company, now known
- 10 as BTA Oil Producers, continues to be a family enterprise, and the
- 11 partners include Mr. and Mrs. Beal's four sons, Carlton "Carty"
- 12 Beal, Jr., Barry Beal, Sr., and Spencer and Kelly Beal, as well as
- 13 two of Barry Beal's sons, Stuart Beal and Barry "BJ" Beal, Jr., and
- 14 Barry Beal's son-in-law, Bob Davenport; BJ Beal also serves as
- 15 general manager; and
- WHEREAS, Other members of this prominent and civic-minded
- 17 family are Linda Kay Nanny Beal, wife of Carty Beal, and their
- 18 children, Carl Beal III, Cristina Beal Johnstone, and Lauren Beal
- 19 Sherry, Nancy Carruth Beal, wife of Barry Beal, and their other
- 20 children, Elizabeth Beal Davenport and Stephen Beal, Karlene Beal
- 21 Garber and her husband, Richard, and their children, Michele
- 22 Garber, Chris Hinojosa, Laurie Garber Fulton, and Scott Beal, Karen
- 23 Roberts Beal, wife of Spencer Beal, and their children, Spencer
- 24 Beal, Jr., Kimberly Beal, and Rebecca Beal McClure, and Chrys
- 25 Detmering Beal, wife of Kelly Beal, and their children, Robin Beal
- 26 Bumstead, Leigh Beal Sheppard, and KC Beal; and
- 27 WHEREAS, For more than half a century, BTA Oil Producers has

- 1 played a vital role in the prosperity of Midland and the Permian
- 2 Basin and members of the Beal family have worked with admirable
- 3 diligence to make a positive difference in their community; now,
- 4 therefore, be it
- 5 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 6 Legislature hereby congratulate the Beal family on receiving the
- 7 2009 Hearst Energy Award for lifetime achievement and extend to the
- 8 family members best wishes for continued success in their
- 9 worthwhile endeavors; and, be it further
- 10 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 11 prepared for the Beal family as an expression of high regard by the
- 12 Texas House of Representatives.

Craddick

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1771 was adopted by the House on May 11, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House