H.R. No. 1789

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Luke Davis has served as a trustee of the Richardson
 Independent School District since 2000, demonstrating admirable
 dedication to his community and its children; and

WHEREAS, A former president and treasurer of the board, Mr.
Davis completed the Leadership TASB program of the Texas
Association of School Boards in 2004, earning certification as a
Master Trustee; and

8 WHEREAS, Mr. Davis is a graduate of the University of North 9 Texas and has taught in the public school system, following a 10 tradition established by two previous generations of his family; he 11 earned his law degree from Texas Tech University with high honors 12 and is an attorney with a Dallas law firm; and

WHEREAS, In addition to carrying out his school board responsibilities, this respected civic leader gives generously of his time and expertise to a variety of community organizations, among them the Exchange Club of Lake Highlands, Young Life, and the Leadership Richardson program of the Richardson Chamber of Rommerce; he is also a valued member of Lake Highlands United Methodist Church; and

20 WHEREAS, Providing young people with a quality education is 21 essential to creating a prosperous future for our state and nation, 22 and through his achievements as a trustee of Richardson ISD, Luke 23 Davis has earned the profound appreciation of his fellow Texans; 24 now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 1789

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 2 Legislature hereby commend Luke Davis for his exemplary service to 3 the Richardson Independent School District Board of Trustees and 4 extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success in his 5 worthwhile endeavors; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Mr. Davis as an expression of high regard by the Texas 8 House of Representatives.

> Kent Hartnett Madden Button

H.R. No. 1789

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1789 was adopted by the House on May 11, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House