H.R. No. 1821

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Texas A&M University--Kingsville Citrus Center
 celebrated 60 years of operation in 2008; and

3 WHEREAS, Opened on July 1, 1948, the facility conducts basic 4 and applied research in an effort to provide innovative solutions 5 to enable the Texas citrus industry to remain competitive in an 6 increasingly global market; the center incorporates undergraduate 7 and graduate student training into its research programs; and

8 WHEREAS, Among its many significant achievements, the Texas 9 A&M University--Kingsville Citrus Center developed both the Star 10 Ruby and the Rio Red varieties of dark red grapefruit; and

WHEREAS, In 1993, the Texas Legislature designated the Texas
Red Grapefruit as the official State Fruit of Texas; and

WHEREAS, The citrus center has further served the industry through its development of methods and technology in the fields of pest and disease management, freeze protection, and environmental sustainability and responsibility; moreover, it is at the forefront of helping the citrus industry prepare for and deal with emerging issues; and

WHEREAS, Texas is known for the richness and variety of its 19 agricultural bounty, and the efforts of the Texas 20 Α&М 21 University--Kingsville Citrus Center have contributed to the 22 state's renown and to the strength of its economy; now, therefore, 23 be it

24

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas

1

H.R. No. 1821

Legislature hereby congratulate Texas A&M University--Kingsville Citrus Center on the occasion of the 60th anniversary of its establishment, recognize all those associated with the facility for their outstanding accomplishments, and extend to them sincere best wishes for continued success with their important work; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for the center as an expression of high regard by the Texas
House of Representatives.

Martinez

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper**-**Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Menendez Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Peña Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

H.R. No. 1821

H.R. No. 1821

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1821 was adopted by the House on May 7, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House