H.R. No. 1853

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, An inspiring couple whose lives have been enhanced
by a great and enduring love, Henry and Diane Walbesser celebrated
their 50th wedding anniversary on August 16, 2008; and

WHEREAS, Dr. and Mrs. Walbesser were united in matrimony in Tonawanda, New York, on that special day in 1958; through the years, they have nurtured a fulfilling marriage that has been made even richer with the addition of their three children, James, Kathleen and her husband, Steve Watkins, and Henry and his wife, Mindy, and their six grandchildren, Lily, Max, Heidi, Kyle, Austin, and Sarah; and

11 WHEREAS, Dr. Walbesser began his career at The University of 12 Texas at Austin; after moving to Maryland, he taught at the University of Maryland and served as director of research for the 13 14 American Association for the Advancement of Science in Washington, D.C.; Mrs. Walbesser taught mathematics in Maryland and New York 15 16 and retired in 1990 from the University of Maryland; since relocating to Texas, she served as president of Baylor Learning in 17 Retirement, while Dr. Walbesser distinguished himself as dean of 18 the graduate school at Baylor University; and 19

20 WHEREAS, While much has changed in the world over the past 21 half-century, the Walbessers have remained constant in their 22 commitment to one another, and the strength of their love has 23 enabled them to meet life's challenges and opportunities with grace 24 and optimism; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 1853

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Henry and Diane Walbesser on their 3 50th wedding anniversary and extend to them sincere best wishes for 4 continued happiness; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for Dr. and Mrs. Walbesser as an expression of high regard 7 by the Texas House of Representatives.

Anderson

H.R. No. 1853

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1853 was adopted by the House on May 14, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House