By: Eiland H.R. No. 1861

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Members of First Union Baptist Church in Galveston
- 2 are gathering on May 17, 2009, to pay tribute to their pastor, the
- 3 Reverend David L. Everson, Sr., for his decade of outstanding
- 4 service to the church; and
- 5 WHEREAS, The congregation has witnessed many positive
- 6 changes during the tenure of Reverend Everson; dedicated to
- 7 improving the church facility, he has been responsible for
- 8 repairing the parsonage and replacing the carpet throughout, and he
- 9 is currently in the process of overseeing major renovations needed
- 10 to recover from the effects of Hurricane Ike; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Reverend Everson has ordained three ministers and
- 12 three deacons since joining First Union Baptist Church, and it is
- 13 fitting that he will ordain another minister and a deacon during his
- 14 anniversary celebration; and
- WHEREAS, This notable pastor has also benefited the greater
- 16 community by overseeing the repair of Hall's Chapel for use as a
- 17 computer school and resource center for youth and adult literacy;
- 18 and
- 19 WHEREAS, The members of First Union Baptist Church have been
- 20 blessed by Reverend Everson's outstanding ability to preach, to
- 21 teach, to lead the congregation in its spiritual growth and
- 22 development, and to provide assistance to members with spiritual
- 23 and personal concerns; and
- 24 WHEREAS, Reverend Everson has touched the lives of countless

H.R. No. 1861

- 1 individuals throughout the past 10 years, and the congregants of
- 2 First Union Baptist have been all the richer for his presence; now,
- 3 therefore, be it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 5 Legislature hereby congratulate the Reverend David L. Everson, Sr.,
- 6 on his 10th anniversary with First Union Baptist Church and extend
- 7 to him sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 9 prepared for Reverend Everson as an expression of high regard by the
- 10 Texas House of Representatives.