RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Vera G. Berry, a charter member of the Eta Chapter of 2 Eta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc., is being honored by the organization at 3 its annual Founders Day celebration on June 13, 2009; and

WHEREAS, Guided by the motto "Not For Ourselves But For 4 5 Others," Eta Phi Beta is a venue for African American businesswomen that seeks to promote high scholastic standards, personal growth, 6 7 career awareness, and community involvement; in 1960, Mrs. Berry was among a group of 13 individuals who founded the sorority's Eta 8 9 Chapter in the Dallas-Fort Worth area, and through the years, she has remained a dedicated member of the organization; in addition to 10 11 holding such leadership positions as president and chaplain, she 12 has served on numerous committees at the regional and national

WHEREAS, Mrs. Berry has further distinguished herself as an employee of the Fort Worth Independent School District for more than three decades, until her retirement in 1992; moreover, she has participated in the Rolling Hills Women's Neighborhood Club, AARP, the Teachers Retirement Association, and the Mount Olive Baptist Church of Fort Worth, and she has volunteered her time to assist the developmentally disabled; and

levels; and

13

WHEREAS, For nearly a half-century, Vera Berry has been committed to the Eta Phi Beta ideals of sisterhood, leadership, and community service, and she may indeed reflect with great pride on the lasting contributions she has made to this notable

H.R. No. 1865

- 1 organization; now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby honor Vera G. Berry of the Eta Chapter of Eta Phi
- 4 Beta Sorority, Inc., and extend to her sincere best wishes for
- 5 continued happiness; and, be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for Mrs. Berry as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 8 House of Representatives.

Veasey

H.R. No. 1865

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1865 was adopted by the House on May 14, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House