By: McReynolds H.R. No. 1998

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Lufkin Daily News and members of its hardworking 2 staff were recognized with several awards in the Better Newspaper Contest 2009 of the North and East Texas Press Association; and 3 WHEREAS, Competing in the division for large dailies, the 4 5 newspaper received first place awards in two categories, for headline writing by assistant news editor Stacy Faison and for news 6 7 photography by staff photographer Joel Andrews; and WHEREAS, In addition to his first place win, Mr. Andrews came 8 9 in second as photographer of the year and placed third in the sports photo category, and he and staff writer Nick Wade won third place 10 11 for feature photo; and WHEREAS, Staff writer Jessica Savage likewise distinguished 12 herself by taking home three awards, placing second in the feature 13 14 story and news writing categories and as journalist of the year; and WHEREAS, The newspaper as a whole received recognition in a 15 16 number of categories, including a second place win in the special section category for its 2008 Progress edition and second place for 17 general excellence; it took third place for community service and 18 fourth place for editorials, page design, and sweepstakes; and 19

20 WHEREAS, With its receipt of 14 awards this year, the *Lufkin*21 *Daily News* has proven itself to be an outstanding Texas newspaper,

2 Daily News has proven reserve to be an earstanding remas hemspaper,

22 and its gifted and dedicated journalists may take great pride in

23 their ongoing commitment to excellence; now, therefore, be it

24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas

H.R. No. 1998

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate the *Lufkin Daily News* on its awards
- 2 from the Better Newspaper Contest 2009 and extend to the paper's
- 3 staff sincere best wishes for continued achievement; and, be it
- 4 further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for the Lufkin Daily News as an expression of high regard
- 7 by the Texas House of Representatives.