## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, David Howarth of Lake Jackson has deservedly been
- 2 honored by the Keep Texas Beautiful organization with its
- 3 Individual Leadership Award for 2009; and
- 4 WHEREAS, The Individual Leadership Award was created to
- 5 recognize individuals who support the Keep Texas Beautiful mission
- 6 of empowering Texans through education to take responsibility for
- 7 enhancing their community's environment; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Mr. Howarth has been active in Keep Lake Jackson
- 9 Beautiful for a decade and has served as its chairman for the past
- 10 eight years; during that time, he has instituted many educational
- 11 programs to teach students and residents about the ways that they
- 12 can help keep their city clean and preserve its natural resources;
- 13 and
- 14 WHEREAS, Mr. Howarth has promoted litter prevention
- 15 projects, trash tip-off hotlines, and citywide clean-ups, as well
- 16 as environmental education efforts that are presented during the
- 17 Enviro Camp in the summer and during the Enviro Fest activities on
- 18 Earth Day; moreover, he has furthered the group's educational
- 19 mission by making numerous appearances at events as Charlie
- 20 Chipper, the Keep Lake Jackson Beautiful mascot, and by involving
- 21 students, residents, and business people in the production of
- 22 public service announcements that address litter and recycling; and
- 23 WHEREAS, Mr. Howarth has been instrumental in helping Keep
- 24 Lake Jackson Beautiful win three Governor's Community Achievement

- 1 Awards totaling more than \$265,000; these funds have been used to
- 2 create the entryway that welcomes visitors to the city and to add
- 3 landscaping along medians and overpasses; and
- 4 WHEREAS, In his tireless efforts to improve the quality of
- 5 life in the local community, he led the charge to ban smoking in
- 6 restaurants and public facilities, appearing before the city
- 7 council for the successful adoption of a no-smoking ordinance; in
- 8 addition, he worked with the Phi Theta Kappa sorority at Brazosport
- 9 College to implement a program on cigarette litter; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Looking beyond the immediate Lake Jackson area, he
- 11 joined Keep Brazoria County Beautiful as chairman of the board;
- 12 through his work with that organization, he has helped to establish
- 13 the Brazoria County Environmental Center on the Seabreeze
- 14 Environmental Landfill site; he has also been involved in the
- 15 national work of Keep America Beautiful as a presenter and
- 16 conference attendee; and
- 17 WHEREAS, This dedicated community leader has also offered his
- 18 time and talents to many civic and professional groups, including
- 19 Habitat for Humanity, the BASF Community Advisory Panel, and BACH,
- 20 an organization supporting children with special needs; further, he
- 21 has contributed to the work of Mended Hearts as a board member and
- 22 volunteer, taken part in the Stars on the Brazos Mardi Gras
- 23 festivities, and used his barbecue and cooking skills to benefit
- 24 charities and provide meals for city employees and rescue workers
- 25 in the aftermath of Hurricane Ike; and
- 26 WHEREAS, In ways large and small, David Howarth has devoted
- 27 himself to making Lake Jackson and the State of Texas a better place

- 1 to live and work, and he is indeed deserving of this prestigious
- 2 honor; now, therefore, be it
- 3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 4 Legislature hereby congratulate David Howarth on his receipt of the
- 5 2009 Individual Leadership Award from Keep Texas Beautiful and
- 6 extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success in his
- 7 volunteer activities; and, be it further
- 8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 9 prepared for Mr. Howarth as an expression of high regard by the
- 10 Texas House of Representatives.

Bonnen

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Branch Harper-Brown Ortiz, Jr. Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Callegari Hilderbran Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton Davis of Harris King of Parker Smith of Tarrant King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Edwards Legler Thibaut Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Fletcher Martinez Vo

Martinez Fischer

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flores

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Walle

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2025 was adopted by the House on May  $19,\ 2009,\ by\ a\ non-record\ vote.$ 

Chief Clerk of the House