RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Members of the health care community are gathering
- 2 at the Capitol on May 12, 2009, for Texas EMS Trauma & Acute Care
- 3 Foundation Day; and
- WHEREAS, A not-for-profit organization, the Texas EMS Trauma
- 5 & Acute Care Foundation helps to support the Department of State
- 6 Health Services as the department continues to develop the Texas
- 7 EMS/Trauma System; and
- 8 WHEREAS, The foundation's mission is to minimize the human
- 9 suffering and economic cost created by health-related emergencies,
- 10 traumatic injuries, and crisis events in Texas, and it seeks to
- 11 accomplish this through several goals, one of which is to increase
- 12 public awareness of these very effects; others include working to
- 13 advance research, education, funding mechanisms, and quality of
- 14 care; and
- WHEREAS, In addition, the foundation is working to promote
- 16 cohesive networks of care and to foster an EMS/trauma system based
- 17 on collaboration between EMS personnel, physicians, nurses, trauma
- 18 centers, hospital administrative staff, allied health care
- 19 professionals, regional advisory councils, public health agencies,
- 20 firefighters, law enforcement officers, educators, payers,
- 21 employers, and communities; and
- WHEREAS, The ability of the state to respond to a wide range
- 23 of emergencies, traumas, and crises is benefited by the efforts of
- 24 the Texas EMS Trauma & Acute Care Foundation, and it is fitting to

- 1 honor all those involved in this vital cause; now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby commemorate May 12, 2009, as Texas EMS Trauma &
- 4 Acute Care Foundation Day at the Capitol; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for the foundation as an expression of high regard by the
- 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Kolkhorst

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Callegari Hilderbran Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Fletcher Martinez Vo

Martinez Fischer

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flores

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Walle

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2030 was adopted by the House on May 12, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House