H.R. No. 2045

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Ruoheng Zhang has been named salutatorian of the
- 2 Class of 2009 at Sandra Day O'Connor High School in Helotes, and for
- 3 achieving this significant honor, she indeed merits special
- 4 recognition; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Earning the title of salutatorian requires not only
- 6 intellect and aptitude, but four years of dedication to the highest
- 7 academic standards; the student who garners this coveted
- 8 distinction must demonstrate a thorough understanding of a wide
- 9 range of subjects, from math and science to language arts and social
- 10 studies, yet the rewards of the countless hours of study and
- 11 preparation are myriad; and
- 12 WHEREAS, In addition to the pride inherent in being
- 13 recognized as the second-highest achieving student in her class,
- 14 the salutatorian is frequently the recipient of scholarships and
- 15 grants; she also gains the opportunity to address her fellow
- 16 seniors at commencement and to reflect on their shared history as
- 17 well as their hopes and ambitions for the future; and
- 18 WHEREAS, Throughout her academic career, Ruoheng Zhang has
- 19 earned the respect and admiration of her teachers and classmates at
- 20 O'Connor High School, and her exceptional scholastic ability, hard
- 21 work, and commitment to excellence have surely opened the way to
- 22 limitless opportunities for this remarkable young Texan; now,
- 23 therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas

H.R. No. 2045

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate Ruoheng Zhang on being named the
- 2 2009 salutatorian of Sandra Day O'Connor High School and extend to
- 3 her sincere best wishes for continued success in all her endeavors;
- 4 and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Ms. Zhang as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 7 House of Representatives.

Leibowitz

H.R. No. 2045

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2045 was adopted by the House on May 19, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House