H.R. No. 2055

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The city of Houston lost a brave and committed 2 public servant with the death of Alvin native Damion Jon Hobbs on 3 April 12, 2009, at the age of 30; and

WHEREAS, A recent graduate of the Houston Fire Department Val Jahnke Training Facility, Mr. Hobbs was a probationary firefighter for Station 26 and one of two firemen who lost their lives in the line of duty while responding to a residential fire in southeast Houston; and

9 WHEREAS, Mr. Hobbs was born on December 24, 1978, and raised 10 in Alvin; he graduated from Alvin High School in 1998 and went on to 11 serve his country as a member of the U.S. Army; during a decade of 12 service, he completed two tours in Iraq and achieved the rank of 13 staff sergeant; he left the military to pursue his lifelong dream of 14 becoming a firefighter; and

WHEREAS, Known for his generosity and kindness, Damion Hobbs exemplified the highest ideals of his profession; he was a dedicated patriot and a beloved member of the brotherhood of firefighters, and memories of him will forever be cherished by all those whose lives he touched; now, therefore, be it

20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 21 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Damion Jon Hobbs and 22 extend sincere sympathy to the members of his family: to his father, 23 Jon Hobbs; to his mother, Joyce Webb; to the love of his life, 24 Crystal Marin; to his sisters, Janice DeShazer and her husband,

1

1 Tim, Tammy Hobbs, and Shiela Hobbs; to his grandmother, Ruth 2 Johnson; to his stepsister, Danielle Moon; to his stepbrother, Levi 3 Webb; and to his other relatives and many friends; and, be it 4 further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of 7 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Damion 8 Hobbs.

> Bonnen Callegari

H.R. No. 2055

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper**-**Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

H.R. No. 2055

Menendez

H.R. No. 2055

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2055 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on May 18, 2009.

Chief Clerk of the House