By: Turner of Tarrant

H.R. No. 2104

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Pioneering barrel racer and horse trainer Nelda
 Patton of Mansfield was inducted into the Texas Rodeo Cowboy Hall of
 Fame in March 2009; and

WHEREAS, A native of Teague, Mrs. Patton learned rodeo riding and horse training from her father, Carter Wills; she began competing in barrel racing at a young age, winning her first event at the age of eight; and

8 WHEREAS, In 1951, she married Bill Patton and moved with him 9 to Oklahoma, taking time away from the sport to raise a family; and

10 WHEREAS, The Pattons returned to Texas in 1961, and Mrs. 11 Patton soon began racing again; she won the Texas Barrel Racing 12 Association title in 1963 and again in 1968; moreover, she was 13 reserve champion six times and consistently finished among the top 14 17 competitors throughout her career; she also took top honors in 15 the event at the Fort Worth Stock Show and Rodeo in 1968; and

16 WHEREAS, Mrs. Patton has long been recognized as a top horse 17 trainer, and more than 30 horses have benefited from her expertise 18 to become champion barrel-racing mounts; now 75, she continued to 19 train horses until 2007 and to compete as a barrel racer into the 20 1990s; and

21 WHEREAS, Mrs. Patton also played a vital role in the creation 22 of the Texas Barrel Racing Association and has been instrumental in 23 introducing many young women to the sport of barrel racing; and 24 WHEREAS, For more than six decades, Nelda Patton has been a

1

1 pioneer and a champion in her sport, as well as an inspiration to 2 younger generations of riders, and she is indeed deserving of this 3 prestigious recognition; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 2104

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
Legislature hereby congratulate Nelda Patton on her induction into
the Texas Rodeo Cowboy Hall of Fame and honor her for her remarkable
career; and, be it further

8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 9 prepared for Mrs. Patton as an expression of high regard by the 10 Texas House of Representatives.

2