H.R. No. 2110

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Roberto Santibanez is receiving the Lifetime
- 2 Achievement Award at the inaugural Flavors of Passion Awards in
- 3 Dallas on July 23, 2009; and
- WHEREAS, Created by second-generation restaurateur and chef
- 5 Felipe Gaytan, the Flavors of Passion Awards celebrate Latino
- 6 culinary culture by recognizing outstanding Latino chefs from
- 7 across Texas and from around the nation and the world; the awards
- 8 pay tribute to the authenticity, variety, creativity, and overall
- 9 excellence of each honoree's contributions to this vital heritage;
- 10 and
- 11 WHEREAS, A native of Mexico, Roberto Santibanez attended the
- 12 prestigious Le Cordon Bleu in Paris; after returning to Mexico City
- 13 to cook for the Foreign Affairs Ministry, he opened several
- 14 exceptional restaurants, then moved to Austin in 1997 to become
- 15 executive chef of Fonda San Miguel; he has since been the culinary
- 16 director of the Rosa Mexicano and Maria Maria restaurants; a member
- 17 of the Gourmet Institute, he is acclaimed around the world as an
- 18 ambassador for Mexican cooking; and
- 19 WHEREAS, The diversity and innovative spirit of Latino
- 20 cuisine contribute greatly to American culture overall, and Mr.
- 21 Santibanez merits special acclaim for his achievements and for
- 22 setting an outstanding example for the next generation of Latino
- 23 chefs; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas

H.R. No. 2110

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate Roberto Santibanez for winning the
- 2 Lifetime Achievement Award at the first Flavors of Passion Awards
- 3 and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success and
- 4 happiness; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Mr. Santibanez as an expression of high regard by the
- 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Alonzo

H.R. No. 2110

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2110 was adopted by the House on May 21, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House