RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The inaugural Rosa Walker Award for Leadership event 2 is being held in Austin on May 18, 2009, and this occasion represents an ideal opportunity to honor Mrs. Walker for her 3 outstanding efforts in behalf of working Texans over the course of 4 5 more than four decades; and WHEREAS, A native of Hemphill, Mrs. Walker graduated from 6 7 Pineland High School and went to work for Southwestern Bell; her membership in the Communication Workers of America sparked her 8 9 interest in organizing, and after serving as a commercial job steward, she joined the executive board of her union; and 10 11 WHEREAS, The labor movement in the Lone Star State gained a 12 dedicated champion when Mrs. Walker accepted a full-time position as an organizer for the Industrial Union Department of the AFL-CIO; 13 14 she went on to serve with the Harris County AFL-CIO until 1965, when she began a remarkable 38-year career with the Texas AFL-CIO; and 15 16 WHEREAS, Deeply committed to the needs of workers, Mrs. Walker served in a wide variety of capacities while holding 17 the titles of director of Community Services/Volunteers and Women's 18 Activities director; she also oversaw disaster relief operations, 19 fought for legislation to benefit working men and women, and 20 21 directed voter registration and get-out-the-vote drives; and 22 WHEREAS, This caring citizen was a founder of the Texas 23 Consumer Association and also shared her time and expertise as vice

president of the Texas Coalition of Labor Union Women and as a

24

H.R. No. 2112

- 1 member of the Democratic National Committee, the Texas Judicial
- 2 Conduct Commission, and the Texas Commission on the Status of
- 3 Women; moreover, she participated in the democratic process and
- 4 strove to benefit workers through her efforts in behalf of local,
- 5 state, and national political campaigns; she has been supported in
- 6 her tireless endeavors by her husband, Boyce Breedlove, and her
- 7 daughter, Debbie; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Throughout her professional life, Rosa Walker has
- 9 set a sterling example of civic engagement, and it is indeed fitting
- 10 to honor her inspirational role and lasting achievements with a
- 11 prestigious award bearing her name; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 13 Legislature hereby commend Mrs. Walker for her contributions to the
- 14 State of Texas and commemorate the Rosa Walker Award for Leadership
- 15 inaugural event; and, be it further
- RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 17 prepared for Mrs. Walker as an expression of high regard by the
- 18 Texas House of Representatives.

Alvarado

H.R. No. 2112

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Callegari Hilderbran Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Vo Fletcher Martinez

Martinez Fischer

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flores

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Walle

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

H.R. No. 2112

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2112 was adopted by the House on May 21, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House