H.R. No. 2147

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Residents of the Bayou City lost a brave and 2 admirable public servant when Captain James Arthur Harlow, Sr., of 3 the Houston Fire Department died in the line of duty on April 12, 4 2009, at the age of 49; and

5 WHEREAS, An East Texas native, James Harlow was born on May 6 18, 1959, and he went on to join the fire department in 1979; he was 7 a skilled firefighter who was always ready for a challenge and who 8 assisted fire victims with the utmost kindness and compassion; he 9 achieved the rank of captain in 2004 and garnered the lasting 10 respect of his colleagues at Fire Station No. 26 for his friendly 11 and approachable demeanor; and

12 WHEREAS, Over the course of nearly three decades with the Houston Fire Department, Captain Harlow never wavered in his 13 14 dedication to his work; he demonstrated his commitment to helping others on many occasions, including during Hurricane Ike, when he 15 16 drove to the station through the storm's powerful wind and rain in order to assist in the disaster; fittingly, this esteemed Texan is 17 posthumously being awarded the Medal of Honor from both the Houston 18 Fire Department and the International Association of Firefighters; 19 20 and

21 WHEREAS, Captain Harlow further distinguished himself as a 22 devoted family man; he shared 29 years with his wife, Debbie, and 23 the couple were blessed with three children and four grandchildren; 24 in addition, Captain Harlow was known for being a sports fan, a

1

## H.R. No. 2147

1 mechanic, and an avid hunter and fisherman, and his fellow 2 firefighters affectionately referred to him as "Captain Hogleg," in 3 reference to his thick East Texas accent and his love of cooking 4 wild game; and

5 WHEREAS, Devoted to the safety and well-being of his fellow 6 citizens, Captain Harlow exemplified the highest standards of his 7 profession, and his courageous service and immeasurable sacrifice 8 will forever be remembered by all those whose lives he touched; now, 9 therefore, be it

10 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas Legislature hereby pay tribute to the memory of Captain James 11 12 Arthur Harlow, Sr., and extend sincere sympathy to the members of his family: to his wife, Debbie Harlow; to his children, Brandy 13 14 Rooth and her husband, Ron, James Harlow, Jr., and his wife, Travis Harlow and his wife, Amber; to his 15 Jessica, and grandchildren, Avery, Darrah, Payton, and Karrah; to his parents, 16 17 James and Virginia Harlow; to his siblings, Terri Perricone and her husband, Phillip, Christie Harlow, and David Harlow and his wife, 18 Pam; and to his other relatives and many friends; and, be it further 19 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 20 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of 21 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Captain 22 23 James Harlow.

Hernandez

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper**-**Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Menendez Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Peña Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

## H.R. No. 2147

H.R. No. 2147

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2147 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on May 18, 2009.

Chief Clerk of the House