H.R. No. 2167

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is pleased to 2 recognize Maria Ruiz for her outstanding efforts to improve the 3 lives of impoverished children and their families in Juarez; and

WHEREAS, For the last 13 years, Ms. Ruiz has traveled regularly to Juarez, where she works to help some 12,000 children and their families who live in conditions that include the lack of electricity and running water; she brings them food, toys, clothes, and other items that she has collected from residents of El Paso, and she is currently working to help build a community kitchen and orphanage that will house 100 children and feed 400 more daily; and

11 WHEREAS, To support her philanthropy, Ms. Ruiz and her 12 husband, Jesus, work several jobs, and she used money she won as a 13 finalist for CNN's 2008 Hero of the Year Award to defray the costs 14 of constructing the orphanage; and

15 WHEREAS, Through her immense compassion and generosity, 16 Maria Ruiz is making a profound difference in the lives of countless 17 Juarez children and their families, and her work is an inspiration 18 to all who know of her; now, therefore, be it

19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 20 Legislature hereby commend Maria Ruiz for her dedication to 21 assisting children in Juarez and extend to her sincere best wishes 22 for the future; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for Ms. Ruiz as an expression of high regard by the Texas

1

H.R. No. 2167

1 House of Representatives.

Marquez Pickett Quintanilla Moody

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper**-**Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Menendez Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Peña Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

H.R. No. 2167

H.R. No. 2167

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2167 was adopted by the House on May 18, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House