H.R. No. 2169

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Clifton Ellis of Karen J. Wagner High School in San
Antonio has been named 2009 Boys Basketball Coach of the Year by the
San Antonio Express-News; and

WHEREAS, Head coach at Wagner for three seasons, Coach Ellis has compiled an impressive record of 84 wins and 36 losses since taking the helm for the Thunderbirds; his team first gained attention during the 2007-2008 campaign, when they advanced to the regional championship game in the playoffs; and

9 WHEREAS, The 2008-2009 season saw Coach Ellis lift his squad 10 to a second-place finish in District 27-5A and then go on to claim 11 the Region 4 championship, despite the loss of four starters from 12 the last season; the Thunderbirds finished their year with a loss in 13 the state semifinals, posting an overall record of 32 wins and just 14 8 losses; and

15 WHEREAS, Exceptional coaches inspire athletes to perform at 16 the peak of their abilities, and Clifton Ellis's commitment to 17 excellence indeed makes him a most deserving recipient of this 18 award; now, therefore, be it

19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 20 Legislature hereby congratulate Clifton Ellis on being named 2009 21 Boys Basketball Coach of the Year by the *San Antonio Express-News* 22 and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be 23 it further

24 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

1

H.R. No. 21691 prepared for Coach Ellis as an expression of high regard by the2 Texas House of Representatives.

Castro

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper**-**Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Peña Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

H.R. No. 2169

Menendez

H.R. No. 2169

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2169 was adopted by the House on May 21, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House