By: Veasey H.R. No. 2188

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Johnnye Jeanell Hughes, a charter member of the Eta 2 Chapter of Eta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc., is being honored by the organization at its annual Founders Day celebration on June 13, 3 2009; and 4 5 WHEREAS, Guided by the motto "Not For Ourselves But For Others," Eta Phi Beta is a venue for African American businesswomen 6 7 that seeks to promote high scholastic standards, personal growth, career awareness, and community involvement; in 1960, Mrs. Hughes 8

- 9 was among a group of 13 individuals who founded the sorority's Eta
- 10 Chapter in the Dallas-Fort Worth area, and through the years, she
- 11 has remained a dedicated member of the organization; in addition to
- 12 holding every leadership position at the chapter level, she has
- 13 served on various regional and national committees; and
- WHEREAS, Before retiring in 1990, Mrs. Hughes was a social
- 15 services caseworker and later an employee of the Fort Worth
- 16 Independent School District; moreover, she has distinguished
- 17 herself as a volunteer with numerous agencies, including the
- 18 American Cancer Society, the YWCA, the United Way, and the NAACP,
- 19 and she is a member of St. Andrew's United Methodist Church in Fort
- 20 Worth, where she has participated in the choir and in many other
- 21 programs; and
- WHEREAS, For nearly a half-century, Johnnye Hughes has been
- 23 committed to the Eta Phi Beta ideals of sisterhood, leadership, and
- 24 community service, and she may indeed reflect with great pride on

H.R. No. 2188

- 1 the lasting contributions she has made to this notable
- 2 organization; now, therefore, be it
- 3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 4 Legislature hereby honor Johnnye Jeanell Hughes of the Eta Chapter
- 5 of Eta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc., and extend to her sincere best
- 6 wishes for continued happiness; and, be it further
- 7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 8 prepared for Mrs. Hughes as an expression of high regard by the
- 9 Texas House of Representatives.