By: Veasey

H.R. No. 2190

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, A. Pearl Hunt, a longtime member of the Eta Chapter
 of Eta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc., is being honored by the organization
 at its annual Founders Day celebration on June 13, 2009; and

WHEREAS, Guided by the motto "Not For Ourselves But For 4 5 Others," Eta Phi Beta is a venue for African American businesswomen that seeks to promote high scholastic standards, personal growth, 6 7 career awareness, and community involvement; Mrs. Hunt joined the sorority's Eta Chapter in 1966, just six years after the group was 8 9 established in the Dallas-Fort Worth area, and through the years, she has remained a dedicated member; in addition to holding such 10 leadership positions as president, historian, and treasurer, she 11 12 has served on various committees at the regional and national levels; and 13

14 WHEREAS, A retired teacher, Mrs. Hunt has further distinguished herself through her participation in numerous civic 15 16 groups, including the Fort Worth Transportation Authority, the Minority Leaders and Citizens' Council, the Fort Worth Metropolitan 17 Black Chamber of Commerce, and the Sickle Cell Disease Association 18 of America, and she has been active in Greater First Missionary 19 Baptist Church; moreover, she received the 2009 Living Legend Award 20 for Community Service from La Vida News; and 21

22 WHEREAS, For more than four decades, Pearl Hunt has been 23 committed to the Eta Phi Beta ideals of sisterhood, leadership, and 24 community service, and she may indeed reflect with great pride on

1

H.R. No. 2190 1 the lasting contributions she has made to this notable 2 organization; now, therefore, be it

3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 4 Legislature hereby honor A. Pearl Hunt of the Eta Chapter of Eta Phi 5 Beta Sorority, Inc., and extend to her sincere best wishes for 6 continued happiness; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for Mrs. Hunt as an expression of high regard by the Texas
House of Representatives.

2