H.R. No. 2251

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Matt Dearmon has been named the 2009 Secondary
Teacher of the Year by the Round Rock Independent School District;
and

WHEREAS, Mr. Dearmon is a graduate of Louisiana State University, where he earned a bachelor's degree in English and a master's degree in education; an enthusiastic student, he will begin additional graduate course work in cultural studies and education in fall 2009 at The University of Texas at Austin; and

9 WHEREAS, The son of an art teacher, Mr. Dearmon tutored 10 foster children during his college years, and he went on to teach 11 for a year at a public school in New Orleans; and

WHEREAS, Since 2005, this talented educator has taught for Round Rock ISD, and he currently teaches English and heads the English department at Stony Point Ninth-Grade Center, where he has distinguished himself with his innovative lessons and his ability to engage a wide range of students; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Dearmon is also cosponsor of the Philosophy Club at Stony Point, and he serves the entire district as a diversity trainer and as a member of the Response to Intervention Committee; and

21 WHEREAS, There is no more important work than educating the 22 young people of Texas, and Matt Dearmon's achievement is a fitting 23 acknowledgment of the positive and lasting difference one committed 24 person can make in the lives of young people; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 2251

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Matt Dearmon on his selection as 3 the Round Rock Independent School District Secondary Teacher of the 4 Year for 2009 and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued 5 success and happiness; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Mr. Dearmon as an expression of high regard by the 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Maldonado

H.R. No. 2251

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2251 was adopted by the House on May 25, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House