RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Circle of Friends greatly contributes to the health
- 2 of young people through its dedicated support of Children's Medical
- 3 Center Foundation of Central Texas; and
- WHEREAS, Founded in 1996, Circle of Friends works to raise
- 5 awareness and funds for the foundation, which in turn helps sustain
- 6 the Dell Children's Medical Center of Central Texas; the group,
- 7 which was originally based in Round Rock, today consists of 10
- 8 additional chapters, including Lake Travis, Central Austin, Hill
- 9 Country, Georgetown, Loop 360, Northwest Austin, Pflugerville,
- 10 East Austin, Uptown, and Southwest Austin; chapters meet monthly
- 11 and host two to three fund-raising events annually; and
- 12 WHEREAS, The organization has been skillfully managed by Rita
- 13 Willoughby for five years, during which time it has successfully
- 14 raised nearly \$1.5 million to benefit Dell Children's; the medical
- 15 center serves a 46-county area and admits all children, regardless
- 16 of their family's ability to pay; and
- 17 WHEREAS, Committed to a strong future for young Central
- 18 Texans, Circle of Friends is working behind the scenes to ensure
- 19 that Dell Children's Medical Center remains a leader in the
- 20 delivery of pediatric care, and the group's impressive achievements
- 21 are indeed deserving of recognition; now, therefore, be it
- 22 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 23 Legislature hereby honor Circle of Friends and its manager, Rita
- 24 Willoughby, for their outstanding support of the Children's Medical

H.R. No. 2252

- 1 Center Foundation of Central Texas and extend to all those
- 2 associated with the organization sincere best wishes for continued
- 3 success; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for Circle of Friends as an expression of high regard by
- 6 the Texas House of Representatives.

Maldonado

H.R. No. 2252

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2252 was adopted by the House on May 25, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House