H.R. No. 2358

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Charlita Blossom has been named Teacher of the Year
- 2 for Ezekiel W. Cullen Middle School in Houston; and
- 3 WHEREAS, A graduate of Howard University, Ms. Blossom majored
- 4 in radiation therapy but was inspired to embark on a career in
- 5 education by her mother and friends and now has 12 years of teaching
- 6 experience; and
- 7 WHEREAS, Ms. Blossom teaches social studies at Cullen and
- 8 enjoys interacting with her students; caring and dedicated, she
- 9 works diligently to accomplish the school's mission, as stated in
- 10 its motto, that "Every day, in every way, every child must have
- 11 every opportunity to learn"; and
- 12 WHEREAS, In addition to fulfilling her teaching
- 13 responsibilities, this outstanding professional serves as sponsor
- 14 for cheerleading, for eighth grade activities, and for homecoming;
- 15 moreover, she is a valued member of the Shared Decision Making
- 16 Committee; she also sets a fine example of civic engagement by
- 17 giving generously of her time as a member of the Delta Sigma Theta
- 18 sorority; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Children are the Lone Star State's most precious
- 20 resource, and a quality education is vital for our young people to
- 21 achieve their full potential; Charlita Blossom's contributions as
- 22 an educator have been of inestimable value, and she is truly
- 23 deserving of commendation for her commitment to excellence in this
- 24 demanding profession; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 2358

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Charlita Blossom on being named
- 3 Teacher of the Year at Ezekiel W. Cullen Middle School and extend to
- 4 her best wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Ms. Blossom as an expression of high regard by the
- 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Edwards

H.R. No. 2358

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2358 was adopted by the House on May 25, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House