H.R. No. 2378

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Shirley Terrell Leavell has played a vital role in
- 2 her community through her service with the YWCA El Paso del Norte
- 3 Region; and
- 4 WHEREAS, The El Paso YWCA provides services to empower and
- 5 enrich the lives of women and girls in the El Paso region, and it is
- 6 celebrating its 100th anniversary in 2009; and
- 7 WHEREAS, Born in El Paso, Ms. Leavell grew up in Beverly
- 8 Hills, California, and was educated in Switzerland before returning
- 9 to her hometown; she has been involved with the YWCA, both in El
- 10 Paso and nationally, for more than 50 years; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Serving on the YWCA's board of directors in the
- 12 early 1960s, she helped raise almost \$800,000 to build what is now
- 13 its Central Branch; since then, she has seen the staff grow from 13
- 14 in 1969 to more than 600, membership grow from 2,000 to more than
- 15 25,000, and the budget grow from less than \$100,000 to more than \$30
- 16 million; and
- WHEREAS, Mrs. Leavell and her husband, the builder Charles
- 18 Leavell, were instrumental in the YWCA's expansion into eastern El
- 19 Paso in the 1970s, and the Shirley Leavell Branch on Sam Snead Drive
- 20 has been named in her honor; and
- 21 WHEREAS, Dedicated volunteers play an important role in
- 22 communities across the Lone Star State, and for many years, Shirley
- 23 Leavell has served as an inspiring leader and role model in El Paso
- 24 through her work with the YWCA; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 2378

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby commend Shirley Terrell Leavell for her record
- 3 of service with the El Paso YWCA and extend to her sincere best
- 4 wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Mrs. Leavell as an expression of high regard by the
- 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Chavez

H.R. No. 2378

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2378 was adopted by the House on May 25, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House