RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The dean of Texas lobbyists, D. L. Willis, is 2 retiring from the Communications Workers of America in June 2009,

3 concluding a career that has spanned nearly five decades; and

WHEREAS, A veteran of the U.S. Marine Corps, "Dally" Willis

served his country in the South Pacific during World War II; in

6 1961, he became a full-time lobbyist for the legislative committee

7 of the CWA, and through the years, he has also contributed

8 significantly to the work of the Texas AFL-CIO and the Permian Basin

9 Central Labor Union; he has helped achieve numerous gains for the

10 labor movement, all the while winning friends on both sides of the

11 aisle with his affable greetings and trademark stickers

12 commemorating holidays and other occasions; and

WHEREAS, During 25 regular sessions, countless special

14 sessions, and all the days in between, Mr. Willis has enjoyed the

15 love and support of his wife, Margaret, and the couple celebrated

16 their 59th anniversary on May 12, 2009; moreover, Mr. Willis has

17 observed many of his birthdays in the throes of Texas politics, and

18 this year will be no different, for he is turning 89 years young on

19 May 21, 2009; and

20 WHEREAS, Dally Willis has long distinguished himself as a

21 champion for the rights of Texas workers and their families, and his

22 exemplary efforts in their behalf will continue to resonate

23 throughout the Lone Star State for years to come; now, therefore, be

24 it

5

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas

Legislature hereby congratulate Dally Willis on his retirement as a

lobbyist for the Communications Workers of America and extend to

him sincere best wishes for continued happiness; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

prepared for Mr. Willis as an expression of high regard by the Texas

House of Representatives.

Gallego

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Paxton Button Herrero Callegari Hilderbran Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Pitts Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton King of Parker Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Legler Thibaut Edwards Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Fletcher Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer Walle Flores

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2384 was adopted by the House on May 28, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House