H.R. No. 2391

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The members of Greater Mount Olive Baptist Church of
- 2 San Antonio are marking a joyous event on November 22, 2009, with
- 3 the commemoration of the 95th anniversary of their church's
- 4 founding; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Organized in 1914 under the leadership of the
- 6 Reverend Ollie Edwards of New Light Church, the early congregants
- 7 met in each other's homes until a structure could be obtained for
- 8 services; in 1915, Greater Mount Olive members were provided free
- 9 meeting space in a building owned by a Mr. Oppenheimer, and in 1917,
- 10 the building and land were purchased for \$750; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Greater Mount Olive has benefited from the
- 12 dedication of outstanding pastors, including Dr. J. N. Byrd, who
- 13 served for 49 years, and the Reverend A. W. Cole, who has guided the
- 14 church since 1983; and
- WHEREAS, Responsive to the physical and spiritual needs of
- 16 members of the church and the Alamo City, the congregation of
- 17 Greater Mount Olive supports programs such as vacation Bible school
- 18 and a food pantry, as well as an outreach ministry; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Since its inception, Greater Mount Olive Baptist
- 20 Church has been a source of strength, comfort, and inspiration to
- 21 its members, and it is fitting that its clergy and parishioners,
- 22 both past and present, be honored on this celebratory occasion;
- 23 now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas

H.R. No. 2391

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate Reverend Cole and the congregants
- 2 of Greater Mount Olive Baptist Church on the 95th anniversary of
- 3 their church and extend to all involved sincere best wishes for the
- 4 future; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for the church as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 7 House of Representatives.

McClendon

H.R. No. 2391

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2391 was adopted by the House on May 28, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House