RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The tenure of an admired public official is drawing

to a close as the Honorable Phil Hardberger concludes his service as

3 the mayor of San Antonio in June 2009; and

2

5

WHEREAS, First elected to the mayor's office on June 7, 2005,

Mayor Hardberger went on to serve a second term after capturing 77

6 percent of the vote in the 2007 election; during his time on the

 $7\,\,$ job, he has helped to attract new business to the city and has

8 overseen the ongoing progress of several important initiatives,

9 including the growth of Brooks City-Base, the Port Authority of San

10 Antonio, and the Toyota Suppliers Parks area; and

11 WHEREAS, Viewing public spaces as a vital means of drawing

12 the community together, the mayor has championed efforts such as

13 the restoration of the historic Main Plaza, the establishment of

14 Voelcker Park, and the improvement of recreational and natural

15 habitat areas along the San Antonio River; moreover, he

16 successfully brought the business community in as a partner in many

17 of these projects, demonstrating his ability to find innovative

18 solutions on important issues; and

19 WHEREAS, Mayor Hardberger has made essential contributions

20 in numerous other areas as well, and his results-oriented approach

21 to the job comes from the experience he gained in previous

22 military, government, and legal positions; he piloted B-47 bombers

23 as a captain in the U.S. Air Force and then served as the executive

24 secretary of the Peace Corps and as a special assistant in the U.S.

- 1 Office of Economic Opportunity; a graduate of the Georgetown
- 2 University Law Center, he built a respected legal practice in San
- 3 Antonio before winning election as associate justice and, later,
- 4 chief justice of the Fourth Court of Appeals in San Antonio; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Phil Hardberger's outstanding performance as mayor
- 6 is a continuation of that notable legacy of service, and he is
- 7 indeed deserving of special recognition for the inspired leadership
- 8 that he has provided to his fellow citizens over the past four
- 9 years; now, therefore, be it
- 10 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 11 Legislature hereby commend the Honorable Phil Hardberger on his
- 12 myriad achievements as the mayor of the City of San Antonio and
- 13 extend to him sincere best wishes for success and happiness in the
- 14 years ahead; and, be it further
- 15 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 16 prepared for Mayor Hardberger as an expression of high regard by the
- 17 Texas House of Representatives.

Gutierrez

Straus Gattis Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Giddings Alonzo Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Anchia Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Aycock Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Harless Bonnen Orr Ortiz, Jr. Branch Harper-Brown Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Burnam Hernandez Patrick Button Herrero Paxton Callegari Hilderbran Peña Castro Hochberg Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Hopson Pitts Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Cohen Coleman Howard of Travis Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Ritter Crabb Isett Rodriguez Craddick Jackson Creighton Jones Rose Keffer Sheffield Crownover Darby Kent Shelton Davis of Harris King of Parker Smith of Tarrant King of Taylor Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas King of Zavala Deshotel Smithee Driver Kleinschmidt Solomons Kolkhorst Dukes Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Laubenberg Dutton Taylor Edwards Legler Thibaut Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Elkins Lucio III Turner of Tarrant England Madden Turner of Harris Vaught Farabee Maldonado Mallory Caraway Veasey Farias Farrar Marquez Villarreal Fletcher Martinez Vo

Martinez Fischer

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flores

Flynn

Frost

Gallego

Walle

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2395 was adopted by the House on May 28, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House