## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The passing of Carolyn Dianne Garcia in April 2009 2 at the age of 45 has greatly saddened her family and friends as well

3 as the many individuals who worked with her over the course of her

4 notable career; and

11

WHEREAS, Born in San Antonio on December 9, 1963, to Mary Jane and Leroy Garcia, Carolyn Garcia was a descendant of Texas patriot Gregorio Esparza, who gave his life at the Alamo, and she took great pride in her illustrious heritage; she graduated from St. Gerard Catholic High School in 1980 and went on to attain a bachelor's

10 degree from The University of Texas at San Antonio in 1988 and two

master's degrees from Webster University in 1991, one in management

12 and one in computer resource management; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Garcia began working in the field of information technology in 1988; through the years, she was an information systems management specialist, an office automation consultant, a system analyst, and a customer account manager, serving agencies that included the U.S. Air Force, the U.S. Army, and the Defense Information Systems Agency; and

19 WHEREAS, This skilled problem-solver was known for the 20 efficient, friendly, and helpful service that she provided to her 21 clients, and she routinely stepped in to assure that special 22 projects were successfully completed; she earned numerous honors 23 for her work, including two Positive Action Team Awards, five 24 Performance Awards, and eight Special Act Awards; moreover, she and

- 1 her colleagues in the Defense Information Systems Agency were
- 2 recipients of the Joint Meritorious Unit Award from Secretary of
- 3 Defense Donald Rumsfeld in 2002 for their contributions to
- 4 Operations Enduring Freedom and Noble Eagle; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Ms. Garcia was an active member of the Kelly Air
- 6 Force Base/Southwest Independent School District Mentoring
- 7 Partnership Program, for which she volunteered to assist at-risk
- 8 students; when not involved with her work or volunteer projects,
- 9 she took pleasure in traveling and had visited many countries in
- 10 Europe as well as New Zealand, Australia, and Hawaii; and
- 11 WHEREAS, In all of her endeavors, Carolyn Garcia enjoyed
- 12 helping others, and her integrity and kindness won her many
- 13 friends; though her time on this earth ended far too soon, memories
- 14 of time spent in her company will forever be treasured by those who
- 15 held her dear; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 17 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Carolyn Dianne Garcia
- 18 and extend deepest condolences to the members of her family: to her
- 19 parents, Leroy and Mary Jane Garcia; to her husband, Victor
- 20 Bosquez; to her brother, Lee Garcia, and his wife, Yolanda; to her
- 21 uncle, Luis Garcia; to her cousin, Peggy; and to her other relatives
- 22 and friends; and, be it further
- 23 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 24 prepared for her family and that when the Texas House of
- 25 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Carolyn
- 26 Garcia.

Gutierrez

Gattis Menendez Straus Geren Allen Merritt Alonzo Giddings Miklos Alvarado Miller of Comal Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Anchia Guillen Anderson Moody Gutierrez Morrison Aycock Berman Hamilton Naishtat Bohac Hancock Oliveira Bolton Hardcastle Olivo Bonnen Harless Orr Branch Harper-Brown Ortiz, Jr. Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Heflin Brown of Brazos Parker Hernandez Burnam Patrick Button Herrero Paxton Callegari Hilderbran Peña Hochberg Castro Phillips Hodge Chavez Pickett Chisum Homer Pierson Christian Hopson Pitts Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Cohen Quintanilla Coleman Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Corte Hunter Rios Ybarra Crabb Isett Ritter Jackson Craddick Rodriguez Creighton Jones Rose Sheffield Keffer Crownover Kent Shelton Darby King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Davis of Harris Smith of Tarrant Davis of Dallas Smith of Harris Deshotel Smithee Driver Solomons Dukes Kolkhorst Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Dutton Laubenberg Taylor Edwards Legler Thibaut Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Eissler Lewis Truitt Turner of Tarrant Elkins Lucio III Madden Turner of Harris England Farabee Maldonado Vaught Veasey Farias Mallory Caraway Marquez Villarreal Farrar Fletcher Martinez Vo

Martinez Fischer

McCall

McClendon

McReynolds

Flores Flynn

Frost Gallego Walle

Weber

Woolley

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2396 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on May 21, 2009.

Chief Clerk of the House