H.R. No. 2433

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Houston Minority Supplier Development Council 2 (HMSDC) is hosting EXPO 2009, the Lone Star State's largest 3 minority business development trade fair, at the George R. Brown 4 Convention Center on September 1 and 2, 2009; and

5 WHEREAS, The HMSDC is affiliated with the Houston Minority 6 Business Council, a nonprofit organization dedicated to expanding 7 business opportunities for minority-owned businesses by 8 encouraging their relationships with major corporations; the 9 group's membership includes more than 220 corporations and over 900 10 minority businesses; and

11 WHEREAS, The council's annual EXPO helps major corporations 12 to identify proven minority suppliers and to disseminate 13 information on conducting business with their companies; moreover, 14 the fair allows minority businesses to explore contracting 15 opportunities with corporations and government agencies by 16 building relationships with key personnel; and

WHEREAS, EXPO 2009 will build on the success of last year's event, which brought together more than 1,500 attendees and generated over \$235,000 in corporate sponsorship; and

20 WHEREAS, The Houston Minority Supplier Development Council 21 and EXPO 2009 contribute greatly to the economic vitality of Texas 22 by providing invaluable resources and new opportunities for 23 minority-owned businesses, and it is a pleasure to recognize this 24 worthy endeavor; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 2433

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 2 Legislature hereby commemorate EXPO 2009, hosted by the Houston 3 Minority Supplier Development Council, and extend best wishes to 4 the trade fair's sponsors and participants for an enjoyable and 5 productive event; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for the council as an expression of high regard by the 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Dutton

H.R. No. 2433

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2433 was adopted by the House on May 28, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House