By: Marquez H.R. No. 2461

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The El Paso Hispanic Chamber of Commerce received
well-deserved recognition when it was named the Region III Large
Hispanic Chamber of the Year for 2008; and
WHEREAS, This prestigious honor was part of the Regional
Hispanic Leadership and Business Excellence Awards presented by the
United States Hispanic Chamber of Commerce; these commendations
also included individual honors, and the El Paso chamber earned
further acclaim when its chief executive officer. Cindy Ramos

Davidson, was named Region III Chamber Executive of the Year; and

WHEREAS, For nearly two decades, the El Paso Hispanic Chamber
has been an invaluable resource for businesses owned by minorities
and women as well as for small business owners from all backgrounds;
the organization provides guidance in obtaining financial capital
and in doing business with corporate and government clients, and
its training sessions help new business owners to get their
ventures started; moreover, the chamber provides its members with
forums for networking with other entrepreneurs and serves as an
advocate for small businesses in the legislative process; and

advocate for small businesses in the legislative process; and

WHEREAS, The El Paso Hispanic Chamber of Commerce has done an
exceptional job of empowering its members and helping them to
become important contributors to the local economy, and the
organization's efforts are creating increased opportunities for
the citizens of El Paso; now, therefore, be it

24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

H.R. No. 2461

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate the El Paso Hispanic Chamber of
- 2 Commerce on being named the Region III Large Hispanic Chamber of the
- 3 Year for 2008 and extend to all those associated with the
- 4 organization sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it
- 5 further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for the chamber as an expression of high regard by the
- 8 Texas House of Representatives.