By: Castro

H.R. No. 2495

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Each year, deserving high school seniors from 2 throughout the nation are selected as scholar finalists in the 3 National Hispanic Recognition Program, and during the 2008-2009 4 academic year, 51 district students from the Northside Independent 5 School District have received this prestigious distinction; and

6 WHEREAS, An initiative of the College Board, the National 7 Hispanic Recognition Program honors those Hispanic students who 8 score well on the preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholar Qualifying 9 Test and who maintain a satisfactory grade point average; and

10 WHEREAS, The 2008-2009 scholar finalists from Clark High 11 School are Vassanti Bribiesca, Julian Carrion, Miguel Contreras, 12 Shannon Eakin, Claudia Hernandez, Veronica Martinez, Audrey 13 Najera, Mia Oviatt, Richard Reyna, Sergio Ruiz, and Carlos 14 Zubillaga; and

WHEREAS, Receiving the commendation at Communications Arts High School are Kaileigh Castillo, Esteban Hinojosa, Joshua Ruder, and Matthew Sanchez; and

18 WHEREAS, From Health Careers High School, the honorees are 19 Kristopher Castillo, Denny Diaz, Ramses Elserwy, Alexandria 20 Fernandez, Joseph Lee, Rafael Lopez-Garcia, Alason Polanco, Caleb 21 Reyes, and Anthony Villanueva; and

WHEREAS, The scholars at Marshall High School are Anthony Brown, Cristina Cintron, Jon Gonzales, Mark Martinez, and Ryan Rodriguez; and

81R34475 JH-D

1

H.R. No. 2495

WHEREAS, O'Connor High School's honorees are Erik Albach,
Taylor Carter, Elissa Cevallos, Timothy Drayton, Avery Gil, Hector
Leal, Rebekah Lopez, Matthew Moran, Steven Padilla, Nicholas
Quiroz, Joel Ramirez, Samantha Recalde, John Reyna, Michael
Tupponce, and Aja Villanueva; and

6 WHEREAS, At Stevens High School, the recipients are 7 Joshua-James Alvarado, Laura Hinojosa, and Debra Salas, while the 8 scholar finalists at Warren High School are Valerie Garza, Steven 9 Hemberger, Paul Lozano, and Joshua Redwine; and

10 WHEREAS, These admirable students have distinguished 11 themselves through their academic achievements, and they may take 12 justifiable pride in earning a place in this prestigious program; 13 now, therefore, be it

14 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 15 Legislature hereby congratulate the Northside ISD scholar 16 finalists in the National Hispanic Recognition Program and extend 17 to them sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it 18 further

19 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 20 prepared for the honorees as an expression of high regard by the 21 Texas House of Representatives.

2