H.R. No. 2518

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Words cannot adequately convey the heartache felt
at the loss of U.S. Army Sergeant Gregory Daniel Unruh of Dickinson,
who died in Iraq on March 19, 2008, at the age of 28; and

WHEREAS, Nicknamed "Professor" by his platoon, Gregory Unruh graduated from high school at the age of 16 and went on to earn his bachelor's degree from the University of Houston-Clear Lake; he hoped to one day attend law school; and

8 WHEREAS, Sergeant Unruh joined the army at the age of 26 and 9 was assigned to the 2nd Squadron, 3rd Armored Cavalry Regiment, 10 based out of Fort Hood; he left behind his beloved wife, Nimet, when 11 he was deployed to Iraq; and

12 WHEREAS, Our state and nation are fortunate to have men and 13 women whose love for their country inspires them to take up military 14 service; Gregory Unruh was a soldier of honor and valor, and the 15 thoughts and prayers of many go out to the family of this courageous 16 young man; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 17 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Sergeant Gregory 18 Daniel Unruh and extend sincere sympathy to the members of his 19 20 family: to his wife, Nimet Unruh; to his parents, Anthony and Sue 21 Unruh; to his sister, Tonya Unruh-Manous and her husband, Cliff; to his brothers, Phillip Unruh, Thomas Unruh and his wife, Denise, and 22 23 Jeremy Unruh and his wife, Tiffany; to his nephew, Conner Unruh; to his mother-in-law, Hatice Seven; to his brother-in-law, Huseyin 24

1

Seven; to his sister-in-law, Demet Townsend; to his grandparents,
Calvin Moore and Arline and Neva Unruh; and to his many other
relatives and friends; and, be it further

4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 5 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of 6 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Sergeant 7 Gregory Daniel Unruh.

Taylor

H.R. No. 2518

H.R. No. 2518

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2518 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on May 24, 2009.

Chief Clerk of the House