By: Callegari H.R. No. 2524

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The members of the 2007 Katy High School football 2 team furthered their school's tradition of excellence by winning 3 the University Interscholastic League 5A Division II state championship; and 4 5 WHEREAS, With a commanding 28-7 victory over Pflugerville High School in the title game on December 22 in San Antonio, the 6 7 Tigers took home Katy's fifth state championship; moreover, they closed out a perfect season in which they notched 16 wins without a 8 9 single loss and were ranked among the top teams in the nation; and WHEREAS, In their march to the championship, the Tigers 10 11 received important contributions from each member of the roster: 12 Chris Harrison, Jourdan Boudreaux, Kyle Hirschfelder, Trent Hunter, Ryan Doerr, Joey Fuda, Terrence Frederick, Tyler Zimmerman, 13 14 Bo Levi Mitchell, Parker Ray, Cale Hanson, Sam Highnote, Raul Balbuena, Spencer Granger, Michael Barnett, Andrew Harrell, Dillon 15 16 Steadman, Joel Wolters, Cameren Strickler, Zac Griffin, Van Atwood, Hayden Munsell, Crockett Thompson, Sam Holl, Michael Webber, 17 Terrance Henry, Donald Birdsall, Seth Chism, Aundre Dean, Jacob 18 Henry, Luis Zavala, John Taylor, Juan Gonzales, Jared Salas, 19 Stephen Morton, Sebi Carbajal, Tory Brown, Brad Graham, Blake 20 21 Adler, Patrick Benson, Blaine Adkins, Chris Roberson, Callen Roundtree, Patrick Reeves, Nathan Bruno, Matt Wiens, Shaun Wysong, 22 23 Kevin Losack, Aaron Poteet, Cody Cox, Chaz Nicholas, James Lowrance, Nick Roach, Travis Malazzo, T. J. Smith, Cameron Travis, 24

H.R. No. 2524

- 1 Austin Sumrall, Nathan Bryan, Eric Ball, Skyler Vela, Brian Rowe,
- 2 A. J. Andrews, Frankie Olivo, Terrence Avie, Aaron Henry, Trey
- 3 Roseberry, Ben O'Connor, Markham Stayton, Marc Ferris, John
- 4 Durrance, David Sanchez, Justin Oswald, Andrew Rodas, Adam Yacoub,
- 5 Aziz Khalil, Sean Alexander, Micah Marks, and Cliff Jokinen; and
- 6 WHEREAS, These skilled athletes were guided by head coach
- 7 Gary Joseph, whose leadership and instruction took the team to the
- 8 pinnacle of success in his fourth season at the helm for Katy; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Inspired by its many ardent supporters and focused
- 10 on the goal of being the best in Texas, the Katy High School
- 11 football team completed a superlative season in 2007, and the
- 12 memory of its achievement will be a lasting source of pride in the
- 13 community for years to come; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 15 Legislature hereby honor the 2007 Katy High School football team
- 16 for winning the University Interscholastic League 5A Division II
- 17 state championship and commend the players, coaches, and staff on a
- 18 job well done; and, be it further
- 19 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 20 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 21 House of Representatives.