RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, U.S. Army Corporal Brandon William Smitherman of 2 Conroe was killed on October 31, 2007, while bravely serving in Iraq, and he leaves behind a loving family and many friends; and 3 WHEREAS, Assigned to the 2nd Battalion, 7th Cavalry Regiment, 4 4th Brigade Combat Team, 1st Cavalry Division, Corporal Smitherman 5 was killed in Mosul when an improvised explosive device detonated 6 7 near his vehicle; among the honors he received were the Purple Heart, the Bronze Star with Valor, and the National Defense Service 8 9 Medal; and WHEREAS, Brandon Smitherman was a 2004 graduate of Montgomery 10 11 High School, where he played defensive end on the Bears football 12 team; a respectful and hardworking young man, he was admired for his willingness to help others, his strength of character, and his 13 14 everpresent smile; known as "Smitty" to his fellow soldiers, he served as his unit commander's driver; and 15 16 WHEREAS, Through his unwavering dedication to duty and honor, Brandon William Smitherman embodied the highest ideals of the U.S. 17 armed forces, and the loved ones of this fine young man will forever 18 carry him close in their hearts; now, therefore, be it 19 20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas

Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of U.S. Army Corporal

Brandon William Smitherman and extend deepest sympathy to his

mother, Teresa Smitherman Jarvis; to his father, Harvey Smitherman;

to his sister, Adrien Smitherman; to his grandmother, Rita Crosby;

21

22

23

24

H.R. No. 2577

- 1 to his niece, Mernalyn Mae Smitherman; and to his other relatives
- 2 and friends; and, be it further
- 3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 4 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of
- 5 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of U.S. Army
- 6 Corporal Brandon William Smitherman.

Creighton

H.R. No. 2577

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2577 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on May 25, 2009.

Chief Clerk of the House