H.R. No. 2621

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The year 2009 marks the 75th anniversary of the
- 2 founding of EECU in Fort Worth; and
- 3 WHEREAS, This important community institution was created in
- 4 late 1934 by 10 Fort Worth teachers and administrators who
- 5 contributed a combined \$50 to the effort; they subsequently
- 6 attained a 50-year charter and opened the Fort Worth Teacher's
- 7 Credit Union in February 1935 in the Fort Worth Independent School
- 8 District Administration Building; and
- 9 WHEREAS, By the mid-1970s, the credit union had branches in
- 10 Arlington, Hurst, Burleson, and Weatherford, and its name was
- 11 changed to Educational Employees Credit Union to reflect its broad
- 12 membership; it became a community-chartered credit union in 1997,
- 13 and several years later its name was shortened to EECU; in 2008, the
- 14 credit union opened its 10th traditional branch, which became its
- 15 first fully bilingual location; and
- WHEREAS, Based on assets and membership size, it is the
- 17 largest community-based financial institution in Tarrant County,
- 18 and it has been ranked the 11th largest credit union in the state;
- 19 moreover, EECU was voted best local bank/credit union in the 2008
- 20 Fort Worth Star-Telegram Readers' Choice Awards; and
- 21 WHEREAS, EECU has provided members with a range of valuable
- 22 services for 75 years, and it is sure to remain a vital contributor
- 23 to the Greater Fort Worth area for many years to come; now,
- 24 therefore, be it

H.R. No. 2621

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby commemorate the 75th anniversary of EECU and
- 3 extend to all those associated with the credit union sincere best
- 4 wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for EECU as an expression of high regard by the Texas House
- 7 of Representatives.

Truitt

H.R. No. 2621

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2621 was adopted by the House on May 31, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House