By: McClendon H.R. No. 2627

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, In her first year of classroom teaching since the
- 2 mid-1990s, Lisa Waddill has been nominated for 2008-2009 Teacher of
- 3 the Year at Purple Sage Elementary School in the Round Rock
- 4 Independent School District; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Ms. Waddill earned her master's degree in elementary
- 6 education as a member of the inaugural graduating class of the
- 7 Teacher Fellows Program at Texas State University--San Marcos;
- 8 after establishing her career in education, she undertook a 13-year
- 9 sabbatical to devote her time and energy to raising her two
- 10 children, Ashlynn and Dylan, who are now 14 and 11 years old; and
- 11 WHEREAS, While away from classroom teaching, Ms. Waddill
- 12 worked for Sylvan Learning and as a private tutor; she also stayed
- 13 involved in education by teaching the first-grade class at her
- 14 church; and
- WHEREAS, Returning to full-time teaching for the 2008-2009
- 16 school year, Ms. Waddill achieved a significant benchmark when
- 17 every student in her fourth-grade class passed the writing,
- 18 reading, and math portions of the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and
- 19 Skills; moreover, her tireless efforts in preparing and
- 20 implementing the 6+1 Trait Writing model contributed to a higher
- 21 passing rate on one portion of the writing assessment among all
- 22 Purple Sage fourth-graders; and
- 23 WHEREAS, Lisa Waddill is a caring and skilled educator whose
- 24 ability, enthusiasm, and commitment to excellence are duly

H.R. No. 2627

- 1 recognized by her teacher of the year nomination; now, therefore,
- 2 be it
- 3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 4 Legislature hereby congratulate Lisa Waddill on her nomination for
- 5 2008-2009 Teacher of the Year at Purple Sage Elementary School and
- 6 extend to her sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it
- 7 further
- 8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 9 prepared for Ms. Waddill as an expression of high regard by the
- 10 Texas House of Representatives.