H.R. No. 2637

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, For more than three decades, Dr. Pauline J. 2 Harris-Haynes has served as the minister of music at the Greater New 3 Hope Missionary Baptist Church in Texarkana, and it is indeed a 4 pleasure to join the congregation in paying tribute to this 5 dedicated volunteer; and

6 WHEREAS, Dr. Harris-Haynes holds a bachelor's degree from 7 Bishop College, a master's degree from East Texas State University, 8 and an honorary doctoral degree from United Theological Seminary in 9 Monroe, Louisiana; she spent over 30 years in education, teaching 10 music and business courses, before she retired from the Texarkana 11 Independent School District; she is now the proprietor of Haynes 12 Mortuary, Inc.; and

WHEREAS, Through the years, Dr. Harris-Haynes has been a musician at churches in Dallas and Houston, as well as several in Texarkana and the surrounding areas, and she is also the secretary of the board of trustees of the Greater New Hope Missionary Baptist Church; moreover, she has been involved with the Texarkana Chamber of Commerce, the YWCA, the Texas State Teachers Association, and many other organizations; and

20 WHEREAS, A noted civic leader and cherished friend, Dr. 21 Harris-Haynes has devoted her time and talents to her community, 22 and her compassion and generosity are an inspiration to all who are 23 privileged to know her; now, therefore, be it

24

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas

1

H.R. No. 2637

1 Legislature hereby honor Dr. Pauline J. Harris-Haynes for her 2 commitment to the Greater New Hope Missionary Baptist Church and 3 the community as a whole and extend to her sincere best wishes for 4 continued success and happiness; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for Dr. Harris-Haynes as an expression of high regard by 7 the Texas House of Representatives.

Frost

H.R. No. 2637

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2637 was adopted by the House on May 31, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House