RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The girls choir from the Finley Seventh Grade Center 2 performed at a 2009 competitive University Waxahachie Interscholastic League concert and sightreading competition, and 3 its members are indeed deserving of special recognition for their 4 5 achievements; and 6 WHEREAS, These talented young musicians earned superior 7 marks for elements such as their vocal tone, choral technique, and ensemble performance; as a result, they received a Division 1 8 9 rating, which places the Finley choir on the varsity level after having entered the competition as a nonvarsity ensemble; and
- 10 11 WHEREAS, Outstanding individual performances from each member of the group came together as a unified whole to make this 12 accomplishment possible; the choir includes Mikealeisha Cash, 13 14 Evangelina Castillo, Alexis Castro, Mikayla Cole, Tarquayla Davis, Darlene Gomez, Emely Gonzalez, Taylor Kvapil, Nicole Manske, Masara 15 16 Martinez, Jayme Mckine, Leanna Napps, Kristen Perez, Victoria Porter, Olivia Rehonic, Kayla Roman, Hannah Stover, Yuritzia Uyoa, 17 Carolynn VanZandt, Taylor Watson, and Katherine Zavala; and 18
- 19 WHEREAS, Exhibiting true dedication and a commitment to 20 excellence, the Finley girls choir has proven its ability to 21 compete at the varsity level and the members of the group may take 22 justifiable pride in this accomplishment; now, therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 24 Legislature hereby congratulate the girls choir from the Finley

H.R. No. 2653

- 1 Seventh Grade Center on their excellent performance at the UIL
- 2 concert and sightreading contest and extend to the choir members
- 3 sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for the group as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 6 House of Representatives.

Pitts

H.R. No. 2653

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2653 was adopted by the House on May 31, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House