H.R. No. 2666

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Words cannot adequately express the heartache felt
- 2 at the loss of U.S. Army Private Oscar Sauceda, Jr., of Del Rio, who
- 3 died while bravely serving his country on May 22, 2007, at the age
- 4 of 21; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Deployed to Iraq in February 2007, Private Sauceda
- 6 was assigned to the 1st Brigade, 1st Infantry Division, "The Big Red
- 7 One," and was killed during combat operations in Baghdad; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Americans owe a profound debt to our nation's
- 9 servicemen and servicewomen, whose courageous efforts and enormous
- 10 sacrifices are deserving of their fellow citizens' deepest respect
- 11 and gratitude; and
- WHEREAS, Exemplifying the highest ideals of the U.S. armed
- 13 forces, Private Sauceda inspired others with his fortitude,
- 14 tenacity, and courage; although his death leaves a void in the lives
- 15 of his loved ones, they will forever carry memories of this heroic
- 16 Texan close in their hearts; now, therefore, be it
- 17 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 18 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of U.S. Army Private
- 19 Oscar Sauceda, Jr., and extend deepest sympathy to all those who
- 20 mourn his passing; and, be it further
- 21 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 22 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of
- 23 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of U.S. Army
- 24 Private Oscar Sauceda, Jr.

Gallego

H.R. No. 2666

Gattis Straus Menendez Allen Geren Merritt Alonzo Giddings Miklos Alvarado Gonzales Miller of Comal Gonzalez Toureilles Miller of Erath Anchia Anderson Guillen Moody Aycock Gutierrez Morrison Berman Hamilton Naishtat Hancock Oliveira Bohac Hardcastle Bolton Olivo Bonnen Harless Orr Harper-Brown Branch Ortiz, Jr. Brown of Kaufman Hartnett Otto Brown of Brazos Heflin Parker Hernandez Burnam Patrick Button Herrero Paxton Callegari Hilderbran Peña Hochberg Castro Phillips Chavez Hodge Pickett Pierson Chisum Homer Christian Hopson Pitts Quintanilla Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Cohen Coleman Raymond Cook Hughes Riddle Hunter Rios Ybarra Corte Crabb Isett Ritter Craddick Jackson Rodriguez Creighton Jones Rose Crownover Keffer Sheffield Kent Shelton Darby Davis of Harris King of Parker Smith of Tarrant King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Davis of Dallas Smith of Harris Deshotel Smithee Driver Solomons Dukes Kolkhorst Strama Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Dutton Laubenberg Taylor Edwards Legler Thibaut Eiland Leibowitz Thompson Lewis Truitt Eissler Turner of Tarrant Elkins Lucio III England Madden Turner of Harris Farabee Maldonado Vaught Farias Mallory Caraway Veasey Marquez Villarreal Farrar

Vo

Walle

Weber

Woolley

Zerwas

Martinez

McClendon

McReynolds

McCall

Martinez Fischer

Fletcher

Flores Flynn

Frost

Gallego

H.R. No. 2666

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2666 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on May 29, 2009.

Chief Clerk of the House