RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The members of the Waxahachie High School choir 2 earned superior ratings for their musical performances and are 3 advancing to the University Interscholastic League Solo/Ensemble Contest in Austin on May 30, 2009; and 4 5 WHEREAS, With the skilled leadership of choir director Gail Stutts-Harrell, the Waxahachie choral program 6 7 performance-based elective that encourages the development of vocal skills in solo and ensemble singing, overall musicianship, 8 fine 9 and increased appreciation for all arts among participants; guided by the motto "One Heart, One Mind, One Voice," 10 11 the students also learn the importance of personal responsibility 12 and accountability for one's actions as members of a group; and 13 WHEREAS, Based on their Class One ensemble performances and 14 vocal and piano solos at the regional competition in San Antonio, 17 members of the Waxahachie choir have qualified to proceed to the 15 16 state competition; those students are: Meagan Speed, Catherine Sullivan, Molly Prescott, Camille Spooner, Megan Neihart, Kara 17 Smith, Libby Power, Nadia Murray, Donald Kirschner, Trevor Smith, 18 Blaine Corbett, Zachary Hatchel, Justin Mallios, Warren Turner, 19 Jessica Woodcock, Rachel Terry, and Lizzie Hain; and 20 21 WHEREAS, These fine young Texans have demonstrated a 22 commitment to excellence and perseverance in the pursuit of their 23 goals, and their efforts indeed merit special recognition; now,

24

therefore, be it

H.R. No. 2690

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby congratulate the members of the Waxahachie High
- 3 School choir on their notable achievements and extend to them
- 4 sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for the Waxahachie High School choir as an expression of
- 7 high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Pitts

H.R. No. 2690

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2690 was adopted by the House on May 31, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House