RESOLUTION

- WHEREAS, Thirteen-year-old Eric Yang of The Colony has won
 the 2009 National Geographic Bee, which was held in Washington,

 D.C., on May 20; and

 WHEREAS, Sponsored by the National Geographic Society, the
- 5 National Geographic Bee program helps spark interest in geography among students in grades four through eight across the nation; 6 7 every year, thousands of young people compete in local and state bees for a chance to compete in the national bee, which is moderated 8 9 by Alex Trebek of the television game show Jeopardy! and broadcast nationally on the National Geographic Channel and again on PBS; and 10 11 WHEREAS, A seventh-grader at Griffin Middle School, Eric Yang 12 triumphed at the Texas National Geographic Bee on April 3, 2009,
- without missing a single question; and 13 14 WHEREAS, At the National Bee in Washington, Mr. Yang competed against 54 youngsters from across the nation; though he missed one 15 question in the preliminary round, he had a perfect record during 16 the final rounds, and he won on the third question of a tiebreaker 17 round by correctly identifying Romania as the home of Timis County; 18 as the national champion, he will receive a \$25,000 college 19 20 scholarship and a trip to the Galapagos Islands; and
- 21 WHEREAS, Eric Yang is an exemplary young Texan whose talent 22 and hard work have made him a champion, and he has indeed won great 23 distinction for himself, his school, and his community; now, 24 therefore, be it

H.R. No. 2706

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Eric Yang on winning the 2009
- 3 National Geographic Bee and extend to him sincere best wishes for
- 4 continued success and a bright future; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Mr. Yang as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 7 House of Representatives.

Crownover

H.R. No. 2706

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2706 was adopted by the House on May 31, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House