H.R. No. 2720

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is pleased to 2 recognize the Honorable Olive Stephens for more than a half century 3 of outstanding service to the citizens of Shady Shores; and

WHEREAS, Recently elected to her 20th term as mayor of Shady Shores at the age of 92, Olive Stephens has played an important role in the town's history since before its incorporation in 1960; Mrs. Stephens and her family bought land in the area in 1957, and she served as a member of the city's first town council in 1963; and

9 WHEREAS, Mrs. Stephens was first elected mayor in 1973, and 10 she was able to forestall increases in city taxes until 2002 by 11 conducting fund-raising events, including garage sales, pancake 12 dinners, Friday night dominoes, and ceramic classes where residents 13 sold their wares to fund the fire department; the town was able to 14 pay for a new community center in cash because of her efforts; and

15 WHEREAS, Mayor Stephens has received numerous honors for her 16 legacy of service, including the Mildred and Taylor Hawk Award from 17 the Denton County Historical Foundation and the United Way Life 18 Membership Certificate; moreover, the Denton Independent School 19 District has named an elementary school in her honor; and

20 WHEREAS, An exceptional public servant, Mayor Stephens is 21 truly deserving of recognition for her dedication and for her many 22 accomplishments; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
Legislature hereby commend Mayor Olive Stephens on her many years

1

H.R. No. 2720 1 of exemplary service to the citizens of Shady Shores and extend to 2 her best wishes for continued success in all her future endeavors; 3 and, be it further

4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 5 prepared for Mayor Stephens as an expression of high regard from the 6 Texas House of Representatives.

Crownover

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson Aycock Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Button Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook Corte Crabb Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins England Farabee Farias Farrar Fletcher Flores Flynn Frost Gallego

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper**-**Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Hunter Isett Jackson Jones Keffer Kent King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Laubenberg Legler Leibowitz Lewis Lucio III Madden Maldonado Mallory Caraway Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Menendez Merritt Miklos Miller of Comal Miller of Erath Moody Morrison Naishtat Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Peña Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Rios Ybarra Ritter Rodriguez Rose Sheffield Shelton Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Swinford Taylor Thibaut Thompson Truitt Turner of Tarrant Turner of Harris Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber Woolley Zerwas

H.R. No. 2720

H.R. No. 2720

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2720 was adopted by the House on May 28, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House