## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is pleased to
- 2 honor Juan Garcia-Lascurain for his outstanding work as an intern
- 3 in the office of State Representative Debbie Riddle; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Thanks to his nighttime gig fronting the local
- 5 reggae sensation The Darby Drivers, Juan Garcia-Lascurain is the
- 6 office's own American Idol, a distinction that has enabled him to
- 7 successfully grow his hair longer than that of any other male intern
- 8 in recent memory; despite the fatigue that ensues from balancing
- 9 school with holding a day job on a rock star's schedule, he always
- 10 manages to get the job done and to file away office materials at a
- 11 remarkable rate of speed, especially for a musician; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Mr. Garcia-Lascurain's peaceful, Rastaman vibe came
- 13 in handy in dealing with phone calls from irate constituents, which
- 14 he handled with astonishing equanimity; like Moses, who labored
- 15 long and hard without entering the promised land, Mr.
- 16 Garcia-Lascurain also put in extraordinary effort on a number of
- 17 research projects that will not come to fruition until long after he
- 18 has earned his first platinum album; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Now a former college student with a degree under his
- 20 belt, Juan Garcia-Lascurain will turn his calm demeanor and
- 21 considerable talents to new challenges, and it is most fitting to
- 22 recognize him for a job well done; now, therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby commend Juan Garcia-Lascurain for his service as

H.R. No. 2728

- 1 an intern in the office of State Representative Debbie Riddle and
- 2 extend to him sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 4 prepared for Mr. Garcia-Lascurain as an expression of high regard
- 5 by the Texas House of Representatives.

Riddle

H.R. No. 2728

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2728 was adopted by the House on May 27, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House