H.R. No. 2745

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Ida Belle Patton of Texarkana is commemorating a 2 special milestone in her life with the celebration of her 80th 3 birthday on June 5, 2009; and

WHEREAS, A native of Louisiana, Ida Crocker was the seventh of 10 children born to Belton and Ellen Caldwell Crocker; she graduated from Central High School in Jefferson and studied education for two years at Bishop College in Marshall; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Crocker married Hollis Patton in 1950, and the 8 9 couple moved to Texarkana, where they raised two daughters, Sandra and Sharon; Ms. Patton became a member of the Sunset Baptist Church 10 11 in the 1960s and, later in that decade, was employed by the Lone 12 Star Army Ammunition Plant; in the mid-1970s, she went on to work at St. Michael's Hospital so that she could devote more time to caring 13 14 for her first grandchild, Cimberli; she was later promoted to supervisor at St. Michael's and served in that capacity until her 15 retirement in 1995; and 16

WHEREAS, During the 1980s, Ms. Patton was an active member of the Amicae Social Club and took part in a number of community improvement projects; today, she devotes herself to cooking, gardening, keeping up with basketball, baseball, and football games, and caring for her home and her family, which has grown to include a second grandchild, Garry; and

23 WHEREAS, Ida Patton has enriched the lives of her friends and 24 loved ones for eight decades, and she continues to bring joy and

1

H.R. No. 2745

1 happiness to all who know her; now, therefore, be it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas 3 Legislature hereby honor Ida Belle Patton on the occasion of her 4 80th birthday and extend to her sincere best wishes for continued 5 happiness; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Ms. Patton as an expression of high regard by the Texas 8 House of Representatives.

Davis of Dallas

H.R. No. 2745

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2745 was adopted by the House on May 27, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House