H.R. No. 2789

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is pleased to
- 2 recognize James Stuart Chaney of Brownsville for his outstanding
- 3 work as a legislative assistant in the office of State
- 4 Representative Aaron Peña; and
- 5 WHEREAS, The son of Mitchell Craig and Susan Kathleen Chaney,
- 6 Stuart Chaney was born on January 9, 1985, in Harlingen, and he and
- 7 his sister, Nell Katherine Chaney, were raised in Brownsville; Mr.
- 8 Chaney attended Saint Joseph Academy, where he participated in the
- 9 Young Leaders Conference and was an honors student, and he
- 10 graduated in 2003; he went on to enroll at the University of Kansas,
- 11 majoring in political science, and he studied abroad in Madrid,
- 12 where he served as the student council representative for the
- 13 International Education of Students Program in 2006; he earned a
- 14 bachelor's degree with honors in 2008; and
- WHEREAS, Since joining the staff in Representative Peña's
- 16 office, Mr. Chaney has had the opportunity to learn more about the
- 17 legislative process and the issues facing the citizens of the Lone
- 18 Star State, and he has brought a high level of enthusiasm and care
- 19 to every task he has been assigned; and
- WHEREAS, With skill, perseverance, and dedication, Mr.
- 21 Chaney has ably served his fellow Texans during the 81st
- 22 Legislature, and he may indeed look forward to a bright future; now,
- 23 therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas

H.R. No. 2789

- 1 Legislature hereby commend James Stuart Chaney for his service as a
- 2 legislative assistant in the office of State Representative Aaron
- 3 Peña and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success and
- 4 happiness; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Mr. Chaney as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 7 House of Representatives.

Peña

H.R. No. 2789

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2789 was adopted by the House on June 1, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House