RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, June 7, 2009, marks the 60th wedding anniversary of
- 2 Clay and Jody Miller of Valentine, and this joyous event provides a
- 3 fitting opportunity to reflect on their memorable journey together
- 4 as husband and wife; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Clay Espy Miller and the former JoEllen Canada were
- 6 joined in matrimony in 1949, at a ceremony held in Nevada, Missouri;
- 7 through the years, they have been blessed with a treasured family
- 8 that includes four sons, Albert, Bill, Jim, and Walter, as well as
- 9 eight grandchildren and four great-grandchildren; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Mr. and Mrs. Miller have owned and operated the C. E.
- 11 Miller Ranch since 1960, and in 2003 they received the Lone Star
- 12 Land Steward Award from the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department; in
- 13 addition to meeting their work and family responsibilities, they
- 14 have been involved with a number of civic and professional
- 15 organizations, including the National Cattlemen's Beef Association
- 16 board of directors, Valentine Independent School District board of
- 17 trustees, Highland Soil and Water Conservation board of trustees,
- 18 Chihuahuan Desert Research Institute board of directors,
- 19 Trans-Pecos Cattlewomen, and Jeff Davis County Historical
- 20 Commission; and
- 21 WHEREAS, The six decades of marriage that Mr. and Mrs. Miller
- 22 have shared is eloquent affirmation of the meaning of love and
- 23 commitment, and their enduring union is an inspiration to all who
- 24 know them; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 2798

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Clay and Jody Miller on their 60th
- 3 wedding anniversary and extend to them sincere best wishes for
- 4 continued happiness; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Mr. and Mrs. Miller as an expression of high regard by
- 7 the Texas House of Representatives.

Gallego

H.R. No. 2798

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2798 was adopted by the House on June 1, 2009, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House